Are Bagels Vegan? Here’s The Answer

  • Evidence based
  • Fact checked
Close-up of sweet and savory bagels

Are bagels vegan | Vegan bagel ingredients | Non-Vegan Ingredients | History | Vegan bagels | Non-vegan bagels | Tips to buy | Brands | Bottom Line

Bagels are a type of bread roll that is popular in many cultures around the world and can be made in a variety of flavors and styles. While some bagels are vegan, not all are. 

The difference between vegan and non-vegan bagels comes down to the ingredients used in the recipe.

Are bagels vegan?

Yes, regular bagels are vegan. This delicious and simple snack fits perfectly into a plant-based diet in its basic form.

However, some variations of bagels can be made with non-vegan ingredients. Only plain bagels that are devoid of any add-ons like eggs, honey, or dairy are vegan.

Ingredients of vegan bagels

The ingredients in vegan bagels vary depending on the recipe, but there are a few common ingredients that you’ll find in most vegan bagels. These ingredients include:

1. Flour

All types of flour can be used to make vegan bagels, including wheat flour, all-purpose flour, and gluten-free flour.

2. Yeast

Yeast is a key ingredient in all types of bread, including bagels. The yeast helps the dough to rise, resulting in a fluffy texture. Some people mistake yeast is not vegan, but it is vegan. [1]Peta: What Is Nutritional Yeast? How Will It Change You?

3. Water/plant-based milk

Typically, only water is needed to make the dough for bagels, but some recipes may call for milk instead. If you are looking for a vegan bagel, look for ones without milk or those made with plant-based milk.

4. Salt

Salt is a key ingredient in bagels as it helps to control the fermentation of the yeast and also adds to the taste.

5. oil

Some vegan bagel recipes may include a small amount of fat. In vegan versions, this is replaced by vegetable oil, non-dairy butter, or vegan cream cheese. The oil improves the bagel dough’s tenderness, and the final bread comes out soft.

6. Sweetener

Bagels come in sweet and savory varieties. Most bagels call for a slightly sweet taste. So, a little raw sugar, maple syrup, or molasses may be used in the dough of vegan bagels. 

Ensure that your bagel does not have white sugar or honey since both of these sweetening ingredients are not vegan.

7. Flax seeds

Flaxseed is a plant-based egg replacer that helps to bind the dough and give the bagels a chewy texture. According to a study [2]Research Gate: Effect of Flax Addition on the Flavor Profile and Acceptability of Bagels on the effects of flax addition, flax may affect the flavor of the bagel, especially in high amounts.

Non-vegan ingredients to avoid

When you are on a vegan diet, you must know about every ingredient you put in your mouth. While meat, fish, eggs, honey, and dairy are obvious ingredients you should avoid, there are other non-vegan ingredients that are often used in bagels.

Here is a list of other non-vegan ingredients commonly found in bagels:

  1. Sugar (white sugar contains bone char)
  2. Lactic acid
  3. L-cystine
  4. Lecithin
  5. Mono and diglycerides
  6. Ascorbyl Palmitate
  7. Calcium lactate
  8. Sodium stearoyl-2-lactylate

History of bagels

The word bagel is derived from the Yiddish word “beygl,” which means “ring” or “circle.” Bagels were traditionally made by hand, and each bagel was boiled before being baked. This step helped to give the bagel its crispy outer crust.

According to Wikipedia, the earliest mention of a ring-shaped breast was found in a 13th-century Arabic cookbook. They then referred to it as ka’ak.

In the early 1600s, bagels made their way to Poland, becoming a staple food. In the late 1800s, Jewish immigrants opened many bagel bakeries in New York City.

By the 20th century, the bagel was a staple in many American households. They can be found in most bakeries and grocery stores. Nowadays, bagels are enjoyed by people of all religions and cultures around the world.

Types of vegan bagels

Bagels are commonly made with wheat flour, but many different types of vegan bagels can be made with different ingredients.

Here is a list of popular vegan bagel flavors you can find in many bakeries and grocery stores:

  1. Plain bagel
  2. Blueberry
  3. Cinnamon raisin
  4. Garlic
  5. Onion
  6. Whole wheat
  7. Poppy seed bagel
  8. Sesame
  9. Flax seeds

Types of non-vegan bagels

Bagels can be made with many different ingredients, so not all bagels are vegan. Here are some popular non-vegan bagels you should stay away from when you are on a vegan diet.

  1. Egg bagels
  2. Honey powder bagels
  3. Cheese bagels
  4. Chocolate chips bagel (mostly contains egg and milk)
  5. Multigrain bagels (contains honey)
  6. French toast bagels (contains sugar, eggs, and dairy)

Note: Although they are non-vegan, you can find vegan versions in some bakeries or make them at home using vegan-friendly ingredients.

Tips for buying vegan bagels

A vegan diet comes at the cost of some foods you might be used to eating. However, with a little effort, you can find vegan versions of almost any food. Here are a few tips for buying vegan bagels.

1. Check the ingredient list

The easiest way to know if a bagel is vegan is to check the ingredient list. It is not vegan if the bagel contains eggs, honey, dairy, or any other above-mentioned non-vegan ingredients.

2. Look for vegan certification

Many vegan food production manufacturers know that vegans look for certification. As a result, they will often put a certificate on their products. If you see “vegan certified” on a bagel’s packaging, you can be sure it is vegan.

3. Ask the baker

If you don’t find a label or certification, you can always ask the staff at the bakery or grocery store. They should be able to tell you if the bagel is vegan or not.

4. Contact the manufacturer

Some manufacturers now have an online chat or customer service number that you can use to ask about their products. You may also find their ingredients list on their website. This is a great way to double-check that a bagel is vegan.

Brands that sell vegan bagels

Several brands sell vegan bagels in a variety of flavors. Some of these brands include:

1. Dave’s killer bread

Dave’s killer bread bagels are vegan and come in various flavors, such as blueberry, cinnamon raisin, plain, and everything (a mix of toppings). Except for their honey oat bagel, all of their flavors are vegan.

2. Thomas’ bagels

Thoma’s Bagels are also great vegan bagel options. All of their flavors are vegan, except for the honey wheat flavor. Some of their flavors include cinnamon raisin, cinnamon swirl, plain, poppy seed, sesame seed, and whole wheat.

3. Noah’s bagels

Noah’s bagels are another vegan-friendly option. Some of their flavors include blueberry, cinnamon raisin, garlic, onion, plain, poppy seed, and whole wheat.

5. Einstein bros bagels

Einstein bros bagels are a popular bagel chain that offers a few vegan options. There are plenty of vegan bagel flavors to choose from, including plain, blueberry, cinnamon raisin, everything, poppy seed, sesame seed, blueberry, and chocolate chip.

The Bottom Line

Most unflavored and regular bagels are vegan, but some may contain honey or eggs. Be sure to check the label or ask before purchasing. Nevertheless, you can easily make your own vegan bagels at home and enjoy them as a delicious breakfast or snack.

Similar Posts